Ward map.
Marylebone High Street ward. Source: ward profile 2009.

By News Reporters

A by-election will take place on Thursday 2 May 2013 for the Marylebone High Street ward in the City of Westminster. The election has been triggered by the resignation of councillor Harvey Marshall. 

The Marylebone Association reports:

Notice of Election was published on Tuesday 26 March and delivery of the nomination papers will occur from Wednesday 27 March up to noon on Friday 5 April.

Councillor Marshall has served on the Council since 1990 and has been responsible at various times for Finance, Arts and Grants, Environment, Economic Development, and Planning. In 2001, he was elected to be the Lord Mayor of the City, during his year in office he carried out 1,480 engagements and made many overseas civic visits.

If you have any questions you would like to put to all the candidates, once they are confirmed, please get in touch. We will try put the best questions we receive to the all candidates before the election, and publish their responses on the Association website.

Updated 10-04-13. The candidates are: Iain Bott (Conservative), Jeremy Hill (Liberal Democrats), Paul Mercieca (UK Independence Party), Yael Saunders (Fighting for Spaces for People), Nik Slingsby (Labour Party), Hugh Small (Green Party).

More information available from Westminster City Council. Marylebone High Street ward profile and map.